There’s Been Some Brave Publishers Out There

ABE was an early internet find of mine and I’ve bought stuff through there (A History of the Rod in All Countries, from the Earliest Period to the Present Time is still my favourite purchase). 

But more than that, ABE has been one of those sites I liked to surf, just looking for oddities, 1st editions, autographed copies, and documents of some historical interest. 

And the site has a new feature: the Weird Book Room!

My favourites:

The Romance of Proctology Which is the Story of the History and Development of This Much Neglected Branch of Surgery From Its Earliest Times to the Present Day, Including Brief Biographic Sketches of Those Who Were Its Pioneers.
Yes, glove is a many splendored thing.

Impeccable Birdfeeding: How to Discourage Scuffling, Hull-Dropping, Seed-Throwing, Unmentionable Nuisances and Vulgar Chatter at Your Birdfeeder.
Durdy pigeons are really makin’ my Project Feederwatch counts look bad.

What’s Wrong With My Snake? A User-Friendly Home Medical Reference Manual (The Herpetocultural Library).
Oh, it’s herpetological.

Gangsta Rap Coloring Book.
You’re not the boss of me; I can colour my MAC-10 Atomic Tangerine if I wanna.

The Pop-Up Book of Phobias.
With every turn of the page I’d be screamin’ like a little girl.

Monk Habits for Everyday People: Benedictine Spirituality for Protestants.
K, seriously, I think I actually want this book for one or both of my “Spiritual Life” courses next year.

The Haunted Vagina.
“It’s difficult to love a woman whose vagina is a gateway to the world of the dead.”
Um … no, not even going to touch this one.

via Dangerous Minds.

Leave a Reply

